How do you read books? Print or Online?

ebooks“Someday all of these print books will be replaced by the Internet.” I’ve often heard that opinion from perfect strangers when I tell them I’m a librarian. (aside: I’m also asked if I sit around and read books all day).  My standard response is “probably not in our lifetimes.”

According to a recent Pew Research Center poll, print books are hanging in there:

“The share of Americans who have read a book in the last year is largely unchanged since 2012; more Americans read print books than either read e-books or listen to audio books.”

Leisure reading is different from academia, where users usually don’t read an entire book. There just isn’t time. They read the introduction or preface, and use the index or table of contents to gather information for a research paper. They may read only a chapter or two. That kind usage I can see going up and up.

Miami University libraries subscribes to several e-book services that has items by large respected publishers like Oxford University Press. You can find them in the online catalog by just limiting your search to “Electronic Resources” after running a search. You can also log in from off campus to these e-books using your Miami ID and password. OhioLINK also provides a wealth of e-books on their website, also accessible from off campus with your ID and password.

One response to “How do you read books? Print or Online?

  1. I am a bibliophile, so this is great news. However, the cynic in me suspects it is too early to tell. I wonder the ages of those polled. I suspect they were, more or less, mature, with established reading habits…

Leave a Reply

